Silent Planet - Terminal

Name of Show: Terminal

Artist: Silent Planet

Date: Saturday, February 6, 2021


  1. Orphan

  2. The New Eternity

  3. XX City Grave

  4. Panic Room

  5. Northern Fires

  6. Afterdusk

  7. Trilogy

  8. Sound of Sleep (new song debut)

  9. First Born (w/ ending jam session)

  10. Native Blood

  11. Wasteland

  12. Depths II

  13. Depths III (w/ live 3 piece orchestra)

My last real concert was Feb 2020 when I saw Silent Planet and company in Chicago (review also on the BTL site). Little did I know, the next time I’d see them would be a year later, digitally, because of a pandemic. Having had plenty of experience with them in person, and seeing the live stream setup teasers, I had no doubt this would be incredible. So let’s get into it.

First, I want to paint the picture of their setup, as every livestream event I’ve seen so far has been different. Silent Planet had a pretty traditional stage setup as you would see in any venue, except they were surrounded by screens on all walls, including the ceiling. These panels displayed intense, rapid firing graphics throughout the show that would get more crazy, almost following the music itself. The lighting followed suit, but I would say most of the illumination came from the screens themselves. I liked to imagine the screens were a representation of not just the moment in a song, but the emotions portrayed as well. Now where is the viewer in all this? Even with the traditional stage setup, it almost felt like I was on the stage, in the music with them. The multiple cameras were rarely still unless there was a calmer moment in a song. Once again, they followed the same pattern as the screens, the songs, and the emotion. ie absolute chaos most of the time. Frantic, is an appropriate word for it. Don’t get me wrong though, this wasn’t just some “throw the camera around all over the place and see what happens”. It remained fast, but not jumbled. I knew where I was the entire time, I knew what I was looking at. I was simply moving, and above all engaged with the band and the music. A feeling I have not quite felt like that from other live streams which now seem a lot more static compared to this.

Now that you understand the layout, I can’t go any further without talking about the sound. I took down this name at the start of the credits: Chris Ghazel. Chris was the sound recorder and mixer. If for some reason he’s reading this, you are incredible. The production, mix, and overall sound was pristine and wouldn’t change a thing about it. There are many more people behind this great livestream I would love to name due to their great work but that would take forever. I knew I had to specifically mention Chris though because this is probably the best live sound display I’ve ever heard from a video. Everything is audible. Every guitar tap, drum hit, bassline, and best of all, the captured atmosphere. Everything exists on it’s own yet is brought together in such a way that nothing is separated.

As for the actual band themselves (because that’s what this is all about isn’t it?). They clearly gave it their all, as they have every time I’ve seen them. Garrett sounds better than ever on the mic. His lows specifically stood out to me as being lower and more pronounced than I’ve ever heard. Thomas never stops getting better with his voice every time I hear him. From album to album, and concert to concert, he keeps improving. His range manages to increase, and the effort to reach those notes or throw on a tinge of rasp becomes more flawless. Watching Alex and Mitch on their respective instruments is always an absolute pleasure. Mitch is not only great at playing, but great at creating. The riffs, solos, and individual pieces he puts together to form these songs is much more intricate than it may seem once you actually get to watch him do it. And I’ve always said; Alex is one of the tightest drummers I’ve ever seen. His playing is precise and super groovy. They are each amazing at what they do and under-rated to say the least.

I couldn’t have asked for more out of this band. They even brought in a 3 person orchestra for their final song. Everything about this show was what I have come to expect from Silent Planet over the years - an epic experience to remember.